Which countries can not enter the USA

With an American passport and the right visas, travelers have all the tools they need to see the world. However, even in our modern society, there are certain countries where Americans are not just unwelcome—they are often barred from visiting entirely.

Every year, the United States Department of State issues several travel warnings, ranging from awareness advisories to avoidance orders. While there are a number of nations that travelers should be aware of every year, these three countries have remained on the State Department's "Do Not Travel" list for years. 

Before making plans to visit these countries on pleasure or a "voluntourism" trip, travelers should think long and careful before securing their plans. The following are three countries Americans should notvisit.

The Central African Republic

In 2013, the Central African Republic begun a violent military coup which ultimately overthrew the government. Today, the land-locked nation continues to rebuild with peaceful elections and a transitional government intact. Despite the progress, the nation remains one of the most corrupt countries in the world, with violence between militant groups ready to break out at any moment. And the armed groups kidnap, injure and murder civilians. When conflict breaks out, borders and road closures can occur without notice.

As of December 2018, the U.S. Department of State has the Central African Republic (CAR) on a Level 4 Advisory warning against travel due to "crime and civil unrest." The State Department advises that there are crimes being committed such as "armed robbery, aggravated battery, and homicide, is common."

U.S. government employees are not authorized to travel outside the Embassy compound without special permission.